NMFC Codes Will Make the Most of Your Shipping Options

NMFC Codes Help Optimize Shipping Options

NMFC codes are also known as National Motor Freight Classification Codes. There are 18 classification codes ranges from Class 50 to Class 500.

These classes, or freight classes, determine the rate for an LTL shipment. These are considerations when you’re looking at class or when you class a commodity. We’d look at the density, the stowability, and the insurability of the freight and how it is as far as ease of handling. Those are the main factors when classifying a particular commodity to a particular freight class.

nmfc codes

The Teknowlogi Difference

Our TMS helps customers figure out what the estimated freight class is with NMFC codes. By doing this, we take the density of a shipped good and we give an estimate on that freight class. The estimate is only an estimate. This is because it’s hard to determine the stowability, ease of handling, and liability of that particular shipment. But the estimate is accurate 90% of the time.

If you want to get the actual class of a shipment, it’s good to use third-party applications like FastClass or ClassIT for NMFC codes. You can get around freight classification if you’ve negotiated tariffs that are density-based. So, density-based tariffs are actually becoming more popular in the LTL industry. A lot of carriers are starting to move away from freight class to density-based. With the density-based tariffs, to get a rate, and then all you need are two zip codes. The origin zip and destination zip. And, of course, your dimensions and weight of the freight. With that information, we could generate an accurate LTL quote.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin